The Aeronautical Society of South Africa Aerospace challenge is a challenge which requires teams from universities to conceptualise, design, construct and be able to fly a radio-controlled model aircraft to meet certain requirements. The Aerospace competition began in 2009. In 2019 the students were required to design RC aircrafts that could take off while transporting payloads (tennis balls) to a specified destination within an allocated time. This competition allows for universities to have 3 different teams, granting freedom for 3 RC planes to be constructed and up to 8 members for each team. Each team should consist of a SAMAA approved solo pilot, who will be tasked to fly the RC plane.